Wednesday, December 25, 2013

John Denver - A Christmas Together (1979)

John Denver - A Christmas Together (1979)

The Crown Prince of Christmas Specials, John Denver, probably did his best Yuletide work with the Muppets. There is some great fun here, particularly for kids, although the TV special has aged a little faster than most of the Muppet material. The songs use electric piano far too much, and have a kind of dated sentimentality about them, but they are entertaining nonetheless. the Muppets' loud rendition of "Little St. Nick" and Miss Piggy's folky "Christmas is Coming" are lively fun. Two or three of the quieter songs achieve a sort of poignant fireside prettiness (especially "It's In Every One of Us"). Denver is typically over-earnest, even when surrounded by talking animals, but younger listeners won't mind.
—Darryl Cater,

Track Listing
  1. Twelve Days of Christmas
  2. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  3. The Peace Carol
  4. Christmas Is Coming
  5. A Baby Just Like You
  6. Deck the Halls
  7. When the River Meets the Sea
  8. Little Saint Nick
  9. Noel: Christmas Eve, 1913
  10. The Christmas Wish
  11. Medley: Alfie, The Christmas Tree/Carol for a Christmas Tree/It's ...
  12. Silent Night
  13. We Wish You a Merry Christmas

No comments :

Post a Comment